On 9th December 2014 the Charity Commission made a supplementary scheme (ref. 879/1415) whereby a number of amendments were made to the earlier 1970 Scheme, which allow CUC greater administrative flexibility in the allocation of funds to qualifying almspeople (as redefined) and under Relief in Need where the definition of persons entitled to benefit has also been redefined.

This is the result of several years of work with the Charity Commission to achieve a more up-to-date governing document which, amongst other issues, takes account of the fact that Cambridge City Council has withdrawn from its responsibility for the governance of the Charity, having identified a conflict of interests. Due to this circumstance changes were necessary regarding the appointment of Trustees to the Board.


The Charity is administered by twelve voluntary  Trustees who manage the Charity and are appointed to a four year term of office that can be renewed once (some of the present Trustees were still appointed under the old Scheme with terms of five years). Eight of the Trustees are so-called ‘co-opted’ Trustees who are citizens of Cambridge or surrounding areas. There are also four ‘nominated’ Trustees; two of whom are appointed by the Cambridge Central Aid Society (CCAS) and two by Cambridge University (CU).

Present Trustees:

Prof.Monika Pruetzel-Thomas (Chair)
Mr Charles Bonney (Vice-Chair)
Ms Liz Bissett (Treasurer)
Ms Sue Simms (Almshouse Trustee)

Ms Brenda Biamonti
Mrs Sheila Brignall
Dr Anthony Dansie
Mrs Philippa Slatter
Mr Joel Limmer (CCAS)
Mrs Penelope Lynch (CCAS)
Mr Steven Morris (CU)
Mr Paul Holland (CU)

There are three ordinary Board meetings per year, with the provision for additional special meetings, should the need arise. The  Chair, Vice Chair, the Almshouse Trustee, and the Finance Trustee are elected annually by the Trustees.

The Treasurer works closely with the Charity’s Accountant (currently PEM) to ensure sound financial management and ongoing probity. The trustees produce annual reports and financial accounts which are sent to the Charity Commission for publication on their website.

The Board has established two Sub-committees, both responsible to the Board, which meet between Board Meetings and prepare recommendations to the Board. They are:

  1. The Resources Sub-committee, which is currently chaired by Steven Morris
  2. The Almshouse Sub-committee, which is chaired by Sue Simms

Both Sub-Committees have agreed terms of reference.

The Almshouse Sub-Committee

Each group of almshouses has a Visiting Trustee who visits the almshouse residents during the year and reports back to the Trustees. Visits are arranged to suit individual residents and their Visiting Trustee. The role of a Visiting Trustee is to monitor the services provided by Hundred Houses and to advise their fellow Trustees when making decisions concerning the almshouses. The current Visiting Trustees are:
John St – Philippa Slatter
King Street – Anthony Dansie
Chesterton – Brenda Biamonti
St Anthony’s – Penelope Lynch



CUC Data Protection Guidelines
(revised March 2016)

Role and Responsibilities of Visiting Trustees

Risk Register


CUC Handbook 1st Edition 2011

CUC Handbook for Almshouse residents 2nd Edition 2014

Contact us